Gladiator Review

.

Shadow’s Overall Rating: God Status— Are you not entertained? This movie is epic.

.

Shadow’s First Viewing Rating: 10/10
Shadow’s Rewatchability Rating: 10/10

Rotten Tomatoe’s Rating: 76%, 7.1/10
Audience: 87%, 7.6/10

.

Plot in a Nut Shell: A Roman general bad ass gets caught in a power struggle he wants no part of and ends up a gladiator. He is such a bad ass that he fights his way back to Rome for revenge. ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED!??!!

.

One of my favorite movies out there. I am stunned the RT rating is so low.

I don’t think there is a single part of this movie I don’t enjoy. I am trying to think of a con to put in the later section and I can only think of one. And that is the romance part that wasn’t fully explained and honestly, isn’t enough of a con to take away from the movie.

This movie has it all. The story is awesome. The action is awesome. There are numerous awesome quotes and bad ass moments. The villain is creepy as fuck.

There isn’t a dull part to this movie. It starts awesome and continues being awesome right to the very last second.

For those who live in the mountains with no electricity (so how are you reading this?), the story is about Maximus, a beloved General in the Roman army. Long story short, and so I don’t ruin the movie, he is betrayed, ends up a slave/gladiator, and makes it back to Rome where he plots his revenge. It is as awesome as it souds.

I have probably watched this movie 100 times. Love it. And if you don’t like it, you are probably dead inside.

.

Pros, cons, and spoilers after the jump.

.

Cons:

– The romance part between the sister and Maximus was odd as it was never explained just implied. Especially odd as Maximus loved his family so much.

.

Pros:

– One of the best movie quotes/moments ever:

“My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.”

– More Quotes!

Quintus: People should know when they are conquered.
Maximus: Would you, Quintus? Would I?

Commodus: The general who became a slave. The slave who became a gladiator. The gladiator who defied an emperor. Striking story! But now, the people want to know how the story ends. Only a famous death will do. And what could be more glorious than to challenge the Emperor himself in the great arena?
Maximus: You would fight me?
Commodus: Why not? Do you think I am afraid?
Maximus: I think you’ve been afraid all your life.

Maximus: Fratres!
Maximus: Three weeks from now, I will be harvesting my crops. Imagine where you will be, and it will be so. Hold the line! Stay with me! If you find yourself alone, riding in the green fields with the sun on your face, do not be troubled. For you are in Elysium, and you’re already dead! [Cavalry laughs]
Maximus: Brothers, what we do in life… echoes in eternity.

Maximus: Are you not entertained? Are you not entertained? Is this not why you are here?

– Everything about this movie is awesome.

Leave a Reply

