Pokemon Update #4- EVOLUTION!

Pignite2

So, after leaving the gym victorious, there is of course some blah blah blah involved. One good thing that came out of it is that I got the TM for Return… aka the best normal type move in the game. So, I instantly teach it to all three of my Pokemon and rejoice. I then try to use TM Work Up but none of my team can learn it. Poop.

Anyway, I also learn that the grass will now “rustle” as I walk by. This is awesome for 2 reasons. One… some rare Pokemon hang out in rustling grass. And 2… Audino will now appear which is awesome because they give super experience points.

So now I need to head to Virbank City next. So I catch some wild Pokemon and battle the trainers on the way…

.

Route 20

audino
Audino-
normal type

Other than providing a shit ton of experience, this guy is completely worthless.

venipede
Venipede-
poison type

Poison types don’t offer much in game. I think Venipede’s final evolution is halfway decent but it doesn’t fit on my team at all and gives me no real advantages or type coverage.

.

So, during the various wild Pokemon and super Audinos and crappy trainers, my Pokemon start gaining levels rapidly. And then Tepig reaches level 17 and starts to evolve into Pignite!

pignite

.

After evolving he also becomes a fighting type and learns a new fighting type move… Arm Thrust. He is also now able to learn TM Work Up.

Current Team:

Pignite (17)– Flame Charge, Arm Thrust, Return, Work Up
Sewaddle (14)– Bug Bite, Return, worthless stuff
Mareep (14)– Thundershock, Thunder Wave, Return, something useless

.

I then head on to Virbank City. Doesn’t seem to be much to do so I head to the grass area and grab some more Pokemon and fight some more trainers to prepare for the gym.

.

Virbank City

magby
Magby-
fire type

A pure fire type that evolves first into Magmar (who is awesome and a Gen 1 OG) and then evolves again into Magmortar or something like that through trade or something. While I do like this Pokemon, I don’t need another fire type plus it evolves through trade so while awesome… to the box with it.

magnemite
Magnemite-
steel/electric type

Another Gen 1 OG and our first steel type. Unfortunately… I hate this Pokemon with a passion and always have. Even though it would first perfectly on my team (and eliminate my need for Mareep), I just hate it. So… to the box. But once again, this game is giving you some really really good Pokemon very early.

growlithe
Growlithe-
fire type

– Another Gen 1 OG and one of my favorites and the first fire type I used way back in Pokemon Red (I started with Bulbasaur naturally). I love this guy and used in when I played competitively online as well. Arcanine is a freaking tank! But… I don’t need a fire type :(. To the Box.

.

So during the catching and shitty trainer battles, Sewaddle ended up learning Razor Leaf at level 15ish, which is its first grass move and a decent move overall. It used to be THE BOMB in first generation with Venusaur by the way.

Also, Mareep leveled up a bit and at level 16 evolved into Flaaffy. Giving it some more oomph and bulk. Also learned some dumb move I cannot remember.

flaaffy

 

.

So my current team heading into Gym #2 is (cannot remember what levels they were but they were 16-19 range)

.

Current Team:

Pignite- fire/fighting- Flame Charge, Arm Thrust, Return, Work Up
Sewaddle- grass/bug- Bug Bite, Razor Leaf, Return, String Shot
Flaaffy- electric- Thundershock, Thunderwave, Return, something else

 

Leave a Reply

