May 2014 Movie Preview

.

Best Theater Release: Godzilla (2014)

Best Home Release: I, Frankensten???

Best Red Box Release: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

.

Theater Release

.

Amazing Spider-Man 2

Date: May 2

Verdict: While not as excited as I am for other movies this year, it is still a solid top 10 choice and should at least be entertaining. I’ll be there.

.

Godzilla

Date: May 16

Verdict: YES. It look stunning. I may even see it in IMAX just because of the enormity of Godzilla. Cannot wait.

.

X-Men: Days of Future Past

Date: May 23

Verdict: Yep. Sure, the X-Men movies have been all over the place and the continuity between them is a mess and Singer and Co. have completely fucked up some things… but 4 of the 6 movies have been well above average (XM, X2, FC, Wolverine). This movie scares me a bit but I have high hopes.

.

A Million Ways to Die in the West

Date: May 30

Verdict: It has Liam Neeson in it, so it gets a spot just because its Liam Neeson. But… I don’t really do comedies.

.

Maleficient 

Date: May 30

Verdict: For a movie that looks way out of my “thing”… it doesn’t look half bad. I don’t know if my wife would be interested or not.

.

Home Release

.

I, Frankenstein

Date: May 13

Verdict: No.

.

3 Days to Kill

Date: May 20

Verdict: No.

.

Pompeii

Date: May 20

Verdict: Hell no.

.

Red Box Release

.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Date: May 6

Verdict: YES! Since I am not buying the regular version, I will be stuck with nothing until November. Therefore… Red Box is here to fill the void.

.

I, Frankenstein

Date: May 13

Verdict: While there is no chance I would buy it, for a dollar I will check it out. Looks interesting enough for that.

.

Pompeii

Date: May 20

Verdict: LOL no.

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

