MoS Aquarium Update: I Ain’t Got One

You may or may not have noticed that I have not been posting up much aquarium and fish related stuff. And there is a very good reason for that:

I don’t have a fish tank anymore.

Essentially, I gave it all up. Got sick of setbacks outside of my control (2 broken dream tanks, giving up on some of my dream fish, random fish deaths outside of my control, random fish deaths due to my stupidity). Essentially, I reached I breaking point. I was getting ready to move AGAIN last January and decided I was done.

And I threw it all away in frustration.

Everything. Filters, tanks, lights, stands, pythons, rocks, driftwood, rocks… everything. I thought about selling it and didn’t even want to deal with it.  I was moving to a place with not a lot of storage and I didn’t want to deal with it.

This is literally the first time I have been without a fish tank since I was in the 7th grade when I got my first tank (a 50 gallon). So it has been what… 15 year in July? Holy crap lol.

I am only just now getting the itch again. I have been perusing craigslist looking for any steals (mostly just rip offs though). I slightly regret throwing away the filters and such but moving them would have been a nightmare and I really had no where to store them.

Fish Picture of the Month is coming back. I have been checking the old fish forums I used to visit here and there again. I hope to start doing more in the “Fish to Avoid” series. Plus I have another series in mind titled, “So you have a X gallon tank….”

So, we will see. I have been looking at tanks in the 75 gallon range. I don’t think I could go back to a 50 gallon (the bump from 13 inch width to 18 inches is huge and opens up a lot of possibilities) but I do not think I want to go back to a 6′ tank yet. Plus, I don’t know where I would put something that big.

Leave a Reply

