Pokemon Update #8: Gym Badge#4… Getting My Ass Kicked

It has been awhile since I updated. Still playing just very, very slowly. At this time my team hasn’t changed at all. I caught some more Pokemon but nothing exciting. I will update what I have caught next post.

Essentially, I got to Nimbasa City and there isn’t much in the immediate area. Couple “trainer” areas but no grass in the city to find some new Pokemon. There are two exits to the North of the city but I wasn’t really in the mood to explore. So, I just decided to go to the gym and see if I can get my fourth badge before I headed out.

The mentor dude tells me this is an electric-type gym. And… that could pose a problem. For one, electric is a STRONG offensive type… fast and hit fucking hard. For two, that means people are getting paralyzed and the good ol’ computer parahax trick is possibly in effect. For three, my only strong Pokemon against the group is Drilbur, who only really has Dig as an offensive attack. Sure, nothing the electric types have are super effective against me, but I have nothing super effective against them either. At least Leavanny’s grass type resists electric moves as well.

The mentor also mentions that Emolga isn’t effected by ground moves. Which tells me the Gym Leader has an Emolga for sure. That… could pose a problem as flying types completely fuck up half my team. Things are not looking good right now.

I fight the trainers and do it without any issues. I am right in line or a little below their levels, which means I will be badly under leveled for the actual Gym Leader. I also learned I may be in some shit because apparently electric type Blitzle learns fire type move Flame Charge which immediately makes Leavanny worthless and immediately makes it where Drilbur isn’t untouchable now. Once again, I think about heading back and level grinding or finding a suitable counter to Blitzle but say fuck it and head on in…

.

Gym Battle #3:

SHADOW:

Drilbur (29)- ground- Dig, Rock Slide, Return, Metal Claw
Pignite (30)- fire/fighting- Flame Charge, Arm Thrust, Return, Work Up
Leavanny (27)- grass/bug- Bug Bite, Razor Leaf, Return, Struggle Bug
Flaffy (23)– electric- Thundershock, Thunderwave, Return, Brick Break

-VS-

ELESA: Electric type gym leader with 4 Pokemon. The first trainers had Blitzle, Flaafy, and Elekid’s. I know there is an Emolga involved as well. So, that would be my guess. Gym leaders generally have at least one evolved Pokemon as their main guy. I would guess it is Electabuzz or Ampharos.

– I lead with Pignite and she chooses a level 30 Emolga. FUCK. I have no idea of Emolga move set or durability or anything. I really, really doubt I could OHKO it with Flame Charge and I really do not want to find out if it has Aerial Ace. So I switch to Flaafy as a sacrifice more than anything and luckily I did because Emolga did have Aerial Ace. It does nothing to Flaafy at all. I use Thundershock, which does an ok amount of damage as Emolga Aerial Aces again and does nothing. At this point, I just plan on wearing down Emolga enough that I can kill it with Pignite in one hit once Flaafy dies. I go to thundershock Emolga again and Elesa switches…

To a level 32 Zebstrika. Oh fuck. For some reason, I didn’t except the evolved form of Blitzle… I didn’t know it had one. It gets a speed boost from Thundershock as well. Fuck. Flaafy gets blasted and killed. I switch Pignite hoping to at least weaken Zebstrika. I go to Flame Charge and she switches again, to Flaafy, who tanks the hit and paralyzes Pignite to book. Fuck. Pignite gets parahaxed and goes down for the count.

I switch in Drilbur because that is my last real hope at this point. Plus I was pissed and not thinking straight… shoulda went to Leavanny and saved Drilbur. Anyway, I Dig, kill Flaafy and get paralyzed AGAIN. FUCK. So now I am doomed. Zebstrika comes in, blasts Drilbur with Flame Charge and then does the same to Leavanny. The parahax made no difference as I wasn’t surviving any Flame Charge from a Zebstrika that out levels me.

Winner: Elisa 2-0

MVP: Zebstrika and its ridiculous speed and move pool.

.

Welp, time to go level grind a bit. Getting everyone to 30 should do the trick. And not getting parahaxed might help. Maybe I will find a Pokemon to help deal with Zebstrika as well.

Leave a Reply

