Getting Back To Fish Keeping #1: The Quest for an Aquarium

It is getting to be about that time. I have got the itch again.

As I have mentioned before, I have kept fish since the 7th grade. My birthday present in the 7th grade was a 50 gallon fish tank with lights, hood, and gravel. Some of my favorite fish of all time I kept in that tank.

And now I missing keeping fish. I miss the relaxation of just sitting there, doing nothing but watching fish swim, fight, eat, ect. Plus my son has taken a huge interest in the fish videos I watch on youtube. So, now I want to have one “for him.”

So, the hunt begins. I have had a tank as big as 180 gallons, but due to money reasons, I am looking for something 75-150 gallons. Jump from 150 to 180 is a huge jump in price and availability… you rarely see 180+ gallon tanks for sale and finding a bargain is even more difficult. Plus, that tank size is cursed as far as I am concerned and I want no part of it. If I ever get a tank bigger than 150, I am making the jump to 220+. Fuck 180 gallon tanks lol.

So it is off to Craigslist. Craigslist is a gift and a curse. You can find some really good deals there if you are patient but it is filled to the brim with AWFUL deals. For some reason, people think their fish tank is special and want 500 bucks for a 50 gallon or some shit.

The first week I was looking and the fish Gods were still cursing me. Found a GREAT deal for a complete set up 75 gallon tank for 100 bucks… give the number a call and it got sold the day before. FUCK. I have seen a few 75-90 gallons in the 200-300 dollar range, which isn’t a bad deal and in my price range. But, they were 2-3 hours away which isn’t my idea of fun. I am in no real hurry as the absolutely earliest I get water in the tank is late July, so I will pass for now.

So, here we go. Wish me luck. The next step is to place a “tank wanted” add on Craigslist and hope for the best…

Leave a Reply

