90 Gallon Update #8: The Death Squad- The Tiger Barbs Have Got To Go

Well, I didn’t see this coming.

Maybe I should have to an extent. Tiger barbs are a bad reputation for being fin nippers and bullies in small numbers. But, people always said that if you keep away fish with long flowing fins (thing angels and bettas) and keep the numbers in the double digits, then everything is ok.

That did not end up being the case for me.

I noticed the tiger barbs behavior was a bit… worrisome from the beginning. They tended to pick on the firemouth and when they did… it was all of the. It was like a pack of hyenas picking on a lioness. It was somewhat worrisome but i figured the cichlid could take care of itself and as I added more fish and decorations, the tiger barbs would back the fuck off.

I added the polys and things got more worrisome. If the polys came out in the open, they were immediately targeted. That… that I didn’t like.

And then I added a Rotkeil severum. Severums can be extremely timid when young. The barbs immediately targeted the severum but I thought they would get over it after they got used to it.

Wrong. Severum was dead the next day. Fuck.

The damn things just will not stop harassing. They look great in the tank and I love their interactions WITH EACH OTHER. But, they are a simple schooling fish. There are other schooling fish that can fill the void.

The tiger barbs have got to go before I add anything else to the tank.

Leave a Reply

